In cart Not available Out of stock
£10.00 Save 50.1%!

2006 Released May 2005 Best known for his work with Celtic rockers Coinneach, Davy Cowan emerges here in solo mode with a cracking long player chock-a-block with good yarns and bursting with sing-along tunes.While his folk rock roots shine through – there’s also a nod to bluegrass and country – the lasting impression is of a storytelling songwriter at the top of his form regardless of genre.Whether it’s the restless shuffle of “Moving On” or the ode to youth that is “16 + Reckless” , the album bristles with ideas. Sift through the 60 minutes on offer and you’ll find more hooks than a fisherman’s tackle box.The driving “Unfortunately Yours” positively spits with indignation while at the other end of the spectrum the lovely “Each Day I Die” is a wistful call to seize the moment and stop procrastinating.Whoever inspired “The Gatecrasher” – the tale of an ultimately lonely party animal – will probably cringe on hearing the story relayed here. Think of The Beautiful South at their brilliant best and you get an idea of what’s in store.Here and there are gentle washes of accordion though the touches are subtle embellishments to his own acoustic guitar. All in all a thoroughly satisfying affair that has you going back for more.Hector Mackenzie - Inverness Courier (Fragile People PPCD003} Track Listing: 1. Moving On 2. Tender Sleep 3. Song For Summer 4. Show Me The Way 5. The Gatecrasher 6. Fragile People 7. Each Day I Die 8. 16 & Reckless 9. Emily's World 10. Unfortunately Yours 11. Cynical Man 12. Last Stop 13. The Likes Of Me 14. Praise Special Offer Buy Now On Paypal  £4.99 + £1 post & packaging


Read more… close